Board of Directors approves the Committee for Revision of the 1818 Society By-Laws

At a Special Meeting convened on November 22, 2021, the Board of Directors approved the appointment of the following members to the Committee for Revision of the By-Laws:

  1. Dilek Barlas, former Executive Secretary, Inspection Panel (Turkey)
  2. Penelope Brook, former Ombudsman; Country Director, Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay (United Kingdom)
  3. Richard Cambridge, former Operations Adviser, AFRVP; Manager, Capacity Development Unit & Manager; & Manager, Africa Diaspora Program (USA, originally from Guyana)
  4. Hilda Emeruwa, former Operations Analyst, MTI; Office Manager, PREM AFR; and Head of Africa ACS Leadership Team (Cote d’Ivoire)
  5. Caroline Kahn, former Chief Counsel and Lead Counsel, Transportation Group, IFC (France)
  6. Alain Locussol, former Lead Water & Sanitation Specialist, SAR & East Africa; and Chair, Urban & Water Thematic Group (France)
  7. Mark Walker, former Chief Counsel, AFR; and Chief Counsel, EAP (Canada).

The Board of Directors also approved the Terms of Reference of the Committee (see below). The Committee has been asked to complete its deliberations and submit to the Board its final Recommendations, with a draft of any proposed revisions to the By-laws, on or about July 31, 2022, to allow the Board to submit the draft revised By-Laws to members for their consideration, through electronic voting prior to the 2022 Annual Meeting.

These actions have been undertaken to implement the Motion introduced by Kevin Cleaver and approved at the 43rd Annual Meeting of the 1818 Society on October 28, 2021.


  1. Terms of Reference, 1818 Society Committee for Revision of the By-Laws
  2. Annex A: Current By-Laws of the 1818 Society
  3. Annex B: Motion approved at the 43rd Annual Meeting, 2021