Text Size    Member Login

About the 1818 Society

The 1818 Society was formed in 1978 as the organization of World Bank Group retirees. The Society has traditionally had two main purposes: facilitating contacts among former staff and acting as a liaison with the Bank on matters of concern to retirees such a pensions and health insurance. In addition, it provides opportunities to members for continuing learning, seminars on a variety of subjects of interest to members, social interactions with other members, participation in various active lifestyle activities, and generally remaining connected with fellow alumni and the World Bank.

Membership

Membership is open to former staff members (including EDs, Alternates and their staff) who are either receiving a World Bank pension or have chosen a deferred pension, and others who had  3 or more years of service, including some pensionable service, in the World Bank Group. Surviving spouses of deceased retirees are invited to become members at no cost. More than 65% of those eligible have become members by paying a one-time membership fee, currently set at $75.00. At present, membership numbers are over 7,000. Membership application can be submitted on-line on this website. Click here to join.

Click here read our by-laws.

Board of Directors

Inder Sud (President and Chair): isud@1818alumniwbg.org
Hadi Abushakra: hadi.abushakra@gmail.com
Annabel Bracher: ambracher@aol.com
Nadereh Chamlou: nchamlou@gmail.com
Anis Dani: adani@1818alumniwbg.org
Norman Hicks: nhicks4@cox.net
Dirk Mattheissen: dirkmattheisen@yahoo.com
William McGreevey: mcg1938@gmail.com
Pauline Ramprasad: pauline.ramprasad@yahoo.com
Fons Marcelis: marcelisa@verizon.net
Christine Wallich: cwallich@1818alumniwbg.org
J. Shivakumar (Honorary Member): jshivakumar@1818alumniwbg.org

Activities

The Society relies on volunteers to organize and manage activities of interest to them. Currently, the activities include: some 11 Thematic Groups on various topics who organize seminars with guest speakers, and gatherings for professional learning; trips and tours to various destinations; hikes in the local DC area; yoga classes; and visits to local places of interest. Members living outside the Washington DC area can organize as “Chapters” of the Society, who arrange periodic get together for their members. Volunteers in the Society are also available to help refer members in need to other members who are willing to volunteer their help.The Society issues a quarterly Bulletin that is available on this website (under “Member Resources”). Members can search the member directory on the website to locate addresses and emails of other members who agree to be listed.

Annual Meeting

The Society holds its Annual Meeting in October at the World Bank Group headquarters in Washington, DC. The 39th Annual Meeting was held on October 25 and 26, 2017. Videos of various sessions on October 26 have been posted below. Video recordings of the SRP and RMIP sessions on October 25 have been posted under their respective tabs (login required).

  • Talk by Dr. Jim Kim, President, WBG  Click here for video recording
  • Talk by Amar Bhattacharya, Brookings  Click here for video recording
  • Talk by Philippe Le Houreou, CEO, IFC  Click here for video recording
  • Proceedings of business meeting  Click here for video recording